The World Health Organization (WHO) and the Medicines Patent Pool (MPP) have announced the names of the 15 manufacturers that will receive support from the mRNA technology transfer programme.

The programme is based around a technology transfer “hub” Afrigen, which is located in South Africa. The “spokes,” or recipients of the technology, in low- and middle-income countries, will receive training and technology from the hub and then produce and sell products commercially.

This global initiative supported by WHO, MPP and partners, is designed to encourage the sustainable development of mRNA vaccines and therapeutics against COVID-19 and other diseases that threaten low- and middle-income countries.

So far, there are 15 selected recipients of the mRNA technology through the WHO hub.

Last week, a vaccine manufacturer from Indonesia, government-owned Biofarma, completed its technology transfer training at Afrigen. In March, Bio-Manguinhos from Brazil and Sinergium Biotech from Argentina received the technology transfer training at Afrigen.



More information on the mRNA Technology Transfer Hub Programme