

Medicines Patent Pool Governance Board Meeting #39

May 26th-27th, 2025 In-person meeting

Attendees

Governance Board Members:

Marie-Paule Kieny (Chair), Mojisola Christianah Adeyeye, Grégory Bonnaud, Maureen Luba, Peter Maybarduk, Govindarajan Narayanan, Ntobeko Ntusi¹, Maximiliano Santa Cruz, Pushpagiri Vijayaraghavan.

Excused Board Members:

N/A

Non-voting Members:

Robert Matiru – Unitaid Director of Programme Management, Jackson Hungu – Unitaid Programme Manager, Marion (Amy) Dietterich – World Intellectual Property Organization Representative, Johanna Hill – World Trade Organization Representative.

Excused Non-voting Members:

Yukiko Nakatani – WHO Representative Peter Beyer – EAG Chair

Medicines Patent Pool Foundation Management Team:

Charles Gore - Executive Director

Esteban Burrone – Policy, Strategy and Market Access Director, Jane Caldwell – Chief Operating Officer, Ike James – Technology Transfer Director, Gelise McCullough – Communications Director, Judith Federhofer – Business Development Director, Chan Park – General Counsel, Agnese Tonnina – Senior Manager, Grants and Governance and Secretary of the MPP Governance Board.

¹ Attended remotely.



Summary of Decisions

The Governance Board of the Medicines Patent Pool:

- 1. Agreed that, at the time of launch, RegPaL, MPP's new Regulatory Pathways Library, will include coverage of at least 30 countries across 3 pillars. Prior to launch, a draft of the contents should be shared with the featured national regulatory authorities (NRAs) with sufficient time for feedback to be provided and incorporated. Replies from the NRAs, however, will not be a pre-condition for launch. While launch is currently tentatively scheduled for September 2025, additional time may be required to address potential feedback.
- 2. Agreed that access to RegPaL should remain open to the public without mandatory login, while retaining disclaimer requirements that users must acknowledge prior to accessing the data. Additional features such as bookmarking and feedback will be enabled for registered users.
- 3. Approved the 2024 financial statements, auditors' report, and 2024 annual report.
- 4. Approved the reforecast of the 2025 budget, totalling CHF 12.36 million.
- 5. Approved the Internal Control Matrix presented by the Management, with the request that it be reviewed annually during the first Board meeting of the year.
- 6. Approved the list of 2024 single sourcing presented by the Management and shared as a pre-read.
- 7. Approved the discontinuation of business class travel for all staff and Board Members under the age of sixty-five. Exceptions will be made only for travellers with documented serious health conditions or at the discretion of the Executive Director (ED) or the Chief Operating Officer for staff or the Chair of the Board for Board members, based on pre-established criteria. For trips that would have previously qualified for business class premium economy will be permitted instead.
- 8. Agreed that the implementation of the amended travel and expenses policy would be monitored and reviewed, and that the Finance and Management Committee would receive a record of approved exceptions to assess consistency and appropriateness.
- 9. Approved the amendments made to the Conflict of Interest, Gifts, and Private Investments policies.
- 10. Approved the revised 2025 Chart of Authorities.
- 11. Approved the extension of the terms of office for the following EAG members for an additional three-year term: Peter Beyer, Zeba Aziz and Fatima Suleman.