

Medicines Patent Pool Governance Board Meeting #38

November 12th-14th, 2024 Virtual meeting

Attendees

Governance Board Members:

Marie-Paule Kieny (Chair), Mojisola Christianah Adeyeye, Grégory Bonnaud, Maureen Luba, Peter Maybarduk, Govindarajan Narayanan, Maximiliano Santa Cruz, Pushpa Vijayaraghavan.

Excused Board Members:

N/A

Non-voting Members:

Peter Beyer – Expert Advisory Group (EAG) Chair, Robert Matiru – Unitaid Director of Programme Management, Jackson Hungu – Unitaid Team Lead, Amy Dietterich – World Intellectual Property Organization Representative, Johanna Hill – World Trade Organization Representative, Deus Mubangizi – World Health Organization Representative¹.

Excused Non-voting Members:

N/A

Medicines Patent Pool Foundation Management Team:

Charles Gore - Executive Director

Esteban Burrone – Policy, Strategy and Market Access Director, Jane Caldwell – Chief Operating Officer, Ike James – Technology Transfer Director, Gelise McCullough – Communications Director, Sandra Nobre – Business Development Director, Chan Park – General Counsel, Gosha Stehle – HR Manager, Agnese Tonnina – Senior Manager, Grants and Governance, Carmen Turnbull – Senior Accounting Manager.

_advancing innovation, access and public health__

¹ Replacing Dr Yukiko Nakatani



Summary of Decisions

The Governance Board of the Medicines Patent Pool:

- 1. Approved the accelerated strategy development timeline process.
- 2. With regards to the Strategy document to be produced, requested the Management to produce a Strategy document that:
 - Covers the period from 2026 to 2030 (5 years)
 - Builds on MPP's current strategy and from the lessons learnt in implementing it
 - Reflects MPP mission, vision and values
 - Takes into consideration MPP's expertise, skills, track record and positioning in the global health landscape
 - Is aligned with a focused funding strategy
 - Is realistic and implementable with an expected annual budget that is similar to that for the current strategy (i.e. CHF 12.5M per year)
 - Is more focused, concise and high-level than the previous strategy (ideally 20 pages maximum).
- 3. Approved replacing point 4.e. of the Statutes with the following text: "Ensuring that contracts with sub-licensees specify that products produced under sub-licence from the Patent Pool must obtain approval from a stringent drug regulatory authority ("SRA"), a WHO-Listed Authority or WHO prequalification, as applicable, with adequate provision for alternative temporary arrangements through a WHO Expert Review Panel in case such approvals are not yet available. Furthermore, in exceptional circumstances, where the above-mentioned pathways are not available, the Governance Board may, from time to time, approve an alternative mechanism, provided that such alternative mechanism can ensure appropriate quality of licensed products."
- 4. Reviewed the following definition of Independent Board Member and agreed to MPP Statutes: confirm its inclusion into the "A majority of Governance Board Members shall be independent. A Governance Board Member shall be considered "independent" if the Governance Board Member or immediate family member of that Governance Board Member currently and for the period of three years prior: (a) Is not employed by the Medicines Patent Pool; and (b) Is not employed or affiliated in a senior capacity by any significant donor to MPP; (c) Maintains no connection with the Medicines Patent Pool that would be perceived as a interest. Assessment of the independence Governance Board Members shall be performed on an annual basis."
- 5. To prevent significant turnover within the EAG and ensure continuity, approved to replace Article 15.1 of the By-Laws with the following text: "Members of the Expert



Advisory Group shall serve a three-year term. Expert Advisory Group members may be elected for a maximum of two consecutive terms or six years. In certain circumstances, for example to ensure continuity in the functions of the Expert Advisory Group, the Board may request one or more members of the Expert Advisory Group to serve an additional three-year term. Members of the Expert Advisory Group may be appointed to serve in one or in several working groups".

- 6. Agreed with the EAG Chair's suggestion to hold an annual EAG virtual meeting in addition to the in-person meeting, aiming to maintain EAG engagement and continuity.
- 7. Approved the 2025 budget.
- 8. Approved the proposed changes to the risk matrix.
- 9. Unanimously approved the appointment of Grégory Bonnaud as Vice-Chair of the MPP Governance Board.
- 10. Agreed to extend the Chair's term of office by an additional three years, thereby concluding on 31st August 2029.