

# Medicines Patent Pool Governance Board Meeting #36

November 8<sup>th</sup> – 10<sup>th</sup>, 2023 Virtual meeting

#### **Attendees**

## **Governance Board Members:**

Marie-Paule Kieny (Chair), Mojisola Christianah Adeyeye, Patrizia Carlevaro, Peter Maybarduk, Govindarajan Narayanan, John-Arne Røttingen, Maximiliano Santa Cruz, Pushpa Vijayaraghavan.

## **Excused Board Members:**

Alexandra Volgina

#### **Non-voting members:**

Peter Beyer – EAG Chair, Jackson Hungu, Unitaid Project Team, Luca Occhini – Unitaid Executive Team, Amy Dietterich – WIPO Observer, Antony Scott Taubman – WTO Observer, Yukiko Nakatani – WHO Observer.

### **Medicines Patent Pool Foundation Management Team:**

Charles Gore – Executive Director, Esteban Burrone – Head of Strategy, Policy and Market Access, Jane Caldwell – Head of Operations and Resources, Robin Eede – Finance Manager Ruth Foley – Monitoring and Evaluation Manager, Ike James – Head of Technology Transfer, Gelise McCullough – Head of Communications, Sandra Nobre – Head of Business Development, Chan Park – General Counsel, Gosha Stehle – HR Manager, Agnese Tonnina – Grants and Operations Manager.



## **Summary of Decisions**

#### The Governance Board of the Medicines Patent Pool:

- 1. Approved the implementation of both Proposal #1: 'Making conditional offers of a licence', with the caveat that manufacturers will undertake formulation manufacturing, and not only primary / secondary packaging or release activities, in country / regionally and Proposal #2: 'Undertaking Expressions of Interest (EOI) that are geographically focused', noting that the latter will not grant exclusivity to geographically focused EOI but will instead complement the 'regular EoI' opened by MPP. These proposals will be implemented in specific cases as identified by the Management.
- 2. Approved the Management's proposal to focus in-licensing efforts more narrowly on those prioritised products or classes where there is the highest chance of success, such as potential originator interest, external stakeholder support, etc. It further approved the postponement of any more feasibility studies into the next strategy period, except for the diagnostics feasibility study, which will be reassessed in 2025.
- 3. Approved the continuation of the expansion of MPP's remit to include any health technologies where licensing could improve access for low- and middle-income countries (LMICs) beyond COVID-19 with the following caveats:
  - MPP will not proactively look for licences outside of the areas already identified in MPP's Strategy 2023-25 (i.e., therapeutics, mRNA vaccines, long-acting technologies).
  - Bandwidth permitting, if offered a licence in relation to other technologies, MPP will seek to assess its value in improving public health using the same criteria it currently employs to assess prioritised products.
  - MPP will use the same process for agreeing a licence, with the Executive Advisory Group (EAG) providing advice and the Board making the final decision, as with any other licence.
- 4. Approved the amendment of the By-Laws by replacing Clause 5.2: 'The Chairperson shall serve a three-year term and may be re-elected' and Clause 5.3: 'If his or her term as Board member expires before the Chairperson's term, his or her term as Board member shall be automatically extended in order to end with the Chairperson's term' with the new Clause 5.2: 'The Chairperson shall serve a three-year term or less to ensure that the Chairperson's term shall always be coterminus with his or her term as a Board member. The Chairperson may be reelected'.
- 5. Approved the appointment of Jennifer Cohn as Vice-chair of the Expert Advisory Group (EAG).
- 6. Approved the appointment of Katherine Gill as EAG Expert working with communities and the non-governmental sector (infectious diseases).



- 7. Requested the Management to initiate an open call for applications for an *EAG Science and Research and Development Expert in vaccines and biologics* to support MPP's work in these areas.
- 8. Approved the appointment of Aditi Das as the authorised representative of the MPP Liaison office in India with effect from 20th November 2023.
- 9. Agreed to grant power of attorney to Jane Deborah Caldwell and Aditi Das, which is necessary for the Indian Liaison office.
- 10. Approved the removal of HDFC Bank signature rights for Rajesh Sethurajrao Murthy and the addition of Aditi Das and Carmen Turnbull as signatories with e-banking access.
- 11. Approved the MPP operational 2024 budget of CHF 12.6 million.
- 12. Approved the proposed Key Organisational Indicators (KOIs) and 2023-2025 targets. With regards to KOI 2.1: Level of satisfaction expressed by licensors and sublicensees with MPP licence management and KOI 2.2: Level of satisfaction expressed by mRNA subgrantees with MPP technical support, requested that the Management anonymise both surveys and suggested that respondents are given an option to provide contact details in case of specific comments /feedback that may require follow-up.
- **13**. Approved the proposed Honorarium and Attendance Expense Reimbursement Policy.

#### **Board closed session**

- 17. Agreed to delay the Board Vice-chair appointment until November 2024, allowing newly recruited Board Members to join and be part of the appointment process. If necessary, the Chair will appoint a Vice-chair for specific discussions.
- 18. Requested to have a more detailed session on the work of the mRNA Technology Transfer hub during the May Board meeting.