In 2013, the Medicines Patent Pool (MPP) and F. Hoffman-La Roche signed an agreement to increase access to valganciclovir, an important, easy-to-take, oral medicine to treat cytomegalovirus (CMV). CMV is a viral infection that can cause blindness in people living with HIV. The deal ensures an up to 90% price reduction for the drug in 138 low- and middle-income countries.

As from July 2018, both parties renewed this agreement, including a greater price reduction.

To find out how to benefit from the price reduction, click on the “Key Features” below.

*access price agreement

Key Features

Background: The Agreement between MPP and Roche

In 2013, the Medicines Patent Pool (MPP) announced an agreement with Swiss pharmaceutical company Roche to increase access to valganciclovir, an important easy-to-take oral medicine to treat cytomegalovirus (CMV). CMV is a viral infection that can cause blindness in people living with HIV. As from July 2018, both parties renewed this agreement.

The MPP/Roche agreement provides a price reduction of up to 90% on the Roche product for people living with HIV in 138 developing countries

Access the full text of the agreement

The price of valganciclovir under the agreement

The price negotiated by MPP for valganciclovir with Roche is 200 CHF per pack (approx. 177 EUR/201 USD) plus VAT on an ex-Works Roche, Basel basis. Costs such as freight and insurance are not included. The minimum order size is 50 packs of valganciclovir; each pack contains 60 tablets of valganciclovir 450mg.

How to benefit from this price

Contact the Medicines Patent Pool

If an entity wishes to benefit from the discounted price, it should sign an Acknowledgement Letter (available below). Through this letter the entity states that it is an eligible “Organisation” (see below) as defined in the agreement, acknowledges receipt of a copy of the Agreement, and agrees to be bound by the terms applicable to such an Organisation. The relevant obligations relate primarily to:

  • The geographical scope for the use of Roche’s valganciclovir (138 countries, See Annex 1 below) and,
  • That such use should be to treat and/or prevent CMV infection in relation to HIV therapy.

To receive a copy of the Acknowledgement Letter, click on one of the following files:

Contact Mr Chan Park, MPP’s General Counsel if the above files do not work.

Contact Roche

Once the Acknowledgement Letter has been signed and sent to MPP, the organisation should contact Roche directly to order valganciclovir, via the information below:

Nicole Steiner
Order & Distribution Manager Direct Markets F. Hoffmann-La Roche Ltd,
Building 228/3.30
CH-4070 Basel, Switzerland
Phone +41 61 688 8846

The organisation shall place orders directly with Roche and copy Ms Sandra Nobre, Head of Business Development at MPP.

Eligibility Criteria

Eligibility to benefit from this agreement, per the agreement between MPP and Roche, is limited to not-for-profit HIV treatment organisations, including:

  • Not-for-profit HIV treatment organisations,
  • National HIV treatment programmes,
  • the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria,
  • the United States Presidents Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief,
  • Unitaid,
  • Médecins Sans Frontières,
  • any other similar organisations identified by MPP and accepted by Roche.

Annex 1 – List of countries included in this agreement

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Albania
  3. Algeria
  4. American Samoa
  5. Angola
  6. Antigua and Barbuda
  7. Argentina
  8. Armenia
  9. Azerbaijan
  10. Bangladesh
  11. Belarus
  12. Belize
  13. Benin
  14. Bhutan
  15. Bolivia
  16. Bosnia and Herzegovina
  17. Botswana
  18. Burkina Faso
  19. Burundi
  20. Cambodia
  21. Cameroon
  22. Cape Verde
  23. Central African Republic
  24. Chad
  25. Chile
  26. China
  27. Comoros
  28. Congo, Dem. Rep.
  29. Congo, Rep.
  30. Costa Rica
  31. Cote d’Ivoire
  32. Cuba
  33. Djibouti
  34. Dominica
  35. Dominican Republic
  36. Ecuador
  37. Egypt, Arab Rep.
  38. El Salvador
  39. Equatorial Guinea
  40. Eritrea
  41. Ethiopia
  42. Fiji
  43. Gabon
  44. Gambia, The
  45. Georgia
  46. Ghana
  47. Grenada
  48. Guatemala
  49. Guinea
  50. Guinea-Bissau
  51. Guyana
  52. Haiti
  53. Honduras
  54. India
  55. Indonesia
  56. Iran, Islamic Rep.
  57. Iraq
  58. Jamaica
  59. Jordan
  60. Kazakhstan
  61. Kenya
  62. Kiribati
  63. Korea, Dem. Rep.
  64. Kosovo
  65. Kyrgyz Republic
  66. Lao PDR
  67. Latvia
  68. Lebanon
  69. Lesotho
  1. Liberia
  2. Libya
  3. Lithuania
  4. Macedonia, FYR
  5. Madagascar
  6. Malawi
  7. Malaysia
  8. Maldives
  9. Mali
  10. Marshall Islands
  11. Mauritania
  12. Mauritius
  13. Micronesia, Fed. States
  14. Moldova
  15. Mongolia
  16. Montenegro
  17. Morocco
  18. Mozambique
  19. Myanmar
  20. Namibia
  21. Nepal
  22. Nicaragua
  23. Niger
  24. Nigeria
  25. Pakistan
  26. Palau
  27. Panama
  28. Papua New Guinea
  29. Paraguay
  30. Peru
  31. Philippines
  32. Rwanda
  33. Samoa
  34. Sao Tome and Principe
  35. Senegal
  36. Serbia
  37. Seychelles
  38. Sierra Leone
  39. Solomon Islands
  40. Somalia
  41. South Africa
  42. South Sudan
  43. Sri Lanka
  44. St. Lucia
  45. St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  46. Sudan
  47. Suriname
  48. Swaziland
  49. Syrian Arab Republic
  50. Tajikistan
  51. Tanzania
  52. Thailand
  53. Timor-Leste
  54. Togo
  55. Tonga
  56. Tunisia
  57. Turkmenistan
  58. Tuvalu
  59. Uganda
  60. Ukraine
  61. Uruguay
  62. Uzbekistan
  63. Vanuatu
  64. Venezuela, RB
  65. Vietnam
  66. West Bank and Gaza
  67. Yemen, Rep.
  68. Zambia
  69. Zimbabwe

See related licence

Country List
Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cabo Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Comoros, Costa Rica, Côte d'Ivoire, Cuba, Congo, democratic Republic of the, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia (the), Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic of), Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic (the), Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, North Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Micronesia (Federated States of), Moldova, Republic of, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Congo, Rwanda, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Suriname, Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tanzania, United Republic of, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Viet Nam, State of Palestine, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe