61

GOVERNANCE

The Governance Board

The Governance Board is MPP's governing body and its highest authority for making decisions. Among its key duties are to set MPP's policies and strategies, oversee its work plan and financial matters, and monitor and evaluate its performance.



Marie-Paule Kieny Chair



Manica Balasegaram



Patrizia Carlevaro



Jinliang Li



Mojisola Christianah Adeyeye



John-Arne Røttingen



Peter Maybarduk (since April)



Alexandra Volgina (since July)



Max Santa Cruz (since October)



Claudia Chamas (until June)



Jayashree Watal (until June)



Philippe Duneton
Unitaid
Founder and
principal funder
Non-voting
participant



Mariângela Batista
Galvão Simão
World Health
Organization
Non-voting
participant



Amy Dietterich
World Intellectual
Property
Organization
Non-voting
participant



Antony Scott Taubman
World Trade
Organization
(since September)
Non-voting
participant

2021 highlights

MPP Governance Board meetings

Three Board meetings took place in 2021 on April 13th, May 19th and November 2nd and 3nd

New Board members and non-voting participants

- Peter Maybarduk (since April 2021)
- ▲ Alexandra "Sasha" Volgina (since July 2021)
- Antony Scott Taubman representing the World
 Trade Organization as non-voting participant
 (since September 2021)
- **► Maximiliano Santa Cruz** (since October 2021)

Renewed memberships

- In April 2021, the Board approved the renewal of

 Marie-Paule Kieny as Chair of the MPP Governance Board for
 a third two-year term commencing on September 1st, 2021
- In November 2021, the Board invited Patrizia Carlevaro to serve as a member for her third two-year term commencing on December 1st



GOVERNANCE

The Expert Advisory Group (EAG)

The EAG advises the Governance Board and the Executive Director on MPP's licence negotiations, and assesses whether the terms and conditions of the proposed licence agreements meet the key requirements as set out by MPP's Statutes. Individual members of the EAG are also consulted by the Executive Director in their particular area of expertise that is relevant to the work of MPP.

EAG members:

Chair: Peter Beyer - World Health Organization, Switzerland

Zeba Aziz – Hameed Latif Hospital, Pakistan **Jennifer Cohn –** Global Antibiotic Research and Development

Partnership – (GARDP), Switzerland

Akthem Fourati - UNICEF, Denmark

Jan Gheuens – Former Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, USA

Manuel Gonçalves – Co-Chair of the Advisory Board of Institute
of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, Portugal

Martha Gyansa-Lutterodt – Ministry of Health, Ghana

Jordan Jarvis – London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine,
United Kingdom

Giten Khwairakpam – AmfAR's TREAT Asia Programme, Thailand **Gugu Nolwandle Mahlangu** – The Medicines Control Authority, Zimbabwe

Deus Mubangizi – World Health Organization, Switzerland
Valérie Paris – Haute Autorité de Santé (HAS), France
Fatima Suleman – University of KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Ellen 't Hoen – Global Health Law Unit of the University Medical
Centre Groningen, The Netherlands



The Scientific Advisory Panel (SAP)

Created in 2019, the SAP is composed of a pool of subject-matter experts who provide guidance and critical insights to the EAG and the Executive Director.

SAP members

Helle Aagaard – ReAct – Action on Antibiotic Resistance

Labeeb Abboud – International AIDS Vaccine Initiative

Isabelle Andrieux-Meyer – BioVersys

Naby Balde – International Diabetes Federation

David Beran – Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève

Mark Blockman - Stellenbosch University

Grania Brigden - International Union Against

Tuberculosis and Lung Disease

Stephen Colagiuri - International Diabetes Federation

Prabhakaran Dorairaj - Director Centre for Control of

Chronic Conditions, PHFI

Philippa Easterbrook - World Health Organization

James Elliot - Trustee t+ International

Nathan Ford - World Health Organization

Gavin Giovannoni - Blizard Institute of Cell and

Molecular Medicine

Rajeev Gupta - Eternal Hospital Jaipur

Juzar Hooker - Aga Khan University Hospital

André Ilbawi - World Health Organization

Kees de Joncheere – Pharmaceutical Policy Consultant

Sylvia Kehlenbrink - Brigham and Women's Hospital

N. Kumarasamy - Chennai Antiviral Research and

Treatment (CART) Clinical Research Site

Karine Lacombe - Saint-Antoine Hospital (AP-HP)

Joanna Laurson-Doube - Multiple Sclerosis

International Federation

Gilberto Lopes – Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer

Center

Nicola Magrini – Italian Drug Agency

Yehoda Martei - UPENN Oncology Perelman School of

Medicine

Salome Meyer - Cancer Alliance

Francesco Negro – Hôpitaux Universitaires de Genève

Iheanyi Okpala - University of Nigeria

Nelson Juma Otwoma – National Empowerment

Network of People Living with HIV/AIDS (NEPHAK)

Anthony Oyekunle – University of Botswana

Pablo Perel – London School of Hygiene and Tropical

Medicine

Roberto Reis – Center for Technological Development

in Health at Oswaldo Cruz Foundation

Gojka Roglic - World Health Organization

Gracia Violeta Ross Quiroga - Bolivian Network of

Positive People

Paul Ruff – University of Witwatersrand Faculty of

Health Sciences

Joshi Shashank - International Diabetes Federation

Lawrence Shulman – UPENN Abramson Cancer Centre

Ursula Theuretzbacher – Center for Anti-Infective

Agents

Wim Vandevelde - GNP+

Stefano Vella – Catholic University, Rome

François Venter - University of the Witwatersrand

Matteo Zignol - World Health Organization

GOVERNANCE

MPP STAFF IN 2021

Charles Gore, Executive Director

Magdalena Babinska, COVID-19 Project

Manager (from February 2021) **Karine Belondrade,** Head of Strategy,

Operations and Resource Mobilisation **Esteban Burrone,** Head of Policy and Advocacy

Marco Casalini, Business Development

Manager (from June 2021)

Vincent Chauvin, CFO & Head of Human Resources

Priyamvada Chugh, Communications Manager (until March 2021)

Ruth Foley, Monitoring and Evaluation Manager (from June 2021)

Lobna Gaayeb, Long-Acting Technologies Project Manager

Muriel Lacombe, Finance and Administration Manager

Nicola Loffredi, Business Development Manager

Amina Maillard, Patent Information Manager Mila Maistat, Policy and Advocacy Manager Gelise McCullough, Head of Communications

Hannah Moak, Business Development

Manage

Sebastien Morin, Policy and Advocacy

Manager

Kim Mwamelo, Scientific Manager for Non-Communicable Diseases (from September 2021) Sophie Naeye, Office Manager

Sandra Nobre, Head of Business Development

Nataliya Omelchuk, Associate Counsel

Hadia Panschiri, Patent Information Officer

Chan Park, General Counsel

Manuele Piccolis, Scientific Manager for

Infectious Diseases

Anthony Pilorget, Head of Alliance

Management (from March 2021)

Giulia Segafredo, Access Manager

Andrew Goldman, Associate Counsel

Zongyuan Tang , Patent Information Officer

(from December 2021)

Sophie Thievenaz, Communications Manager

Agnese Tonnina, Grants and Operations

Manager

Betina Zago, Communications Officer

